Works > Recordare


Written in:
2 Flts (+ 1picc), 2 Obs (+1Cor anglais), 1 E-flat Clt, 1 A Clt (+Bass Clt), 1 fgt, 2 cors in F, 1 Trpt in B-flat, 2 Trbnes, 1 Tuba, 1 Bass drum, 1 Glockenspiel, 1 Large Cymbal, 1 Steel Drum, 1 Tam-tam, 4 Timpani, 1 Tom-Tom, 1 Triangle, 1 Vibraphone, 1 Xylophone, 1 Marimba, 1 Harp, 1 Piano, 1 Celesta, 10 vlns I, 10 vlns II, 8 vlas, 6 vc, 4 DBs.
Commisioned by

Orquesta Filarmónica de la UNAM.


Premiered on 15th December 2006 at Sala Nezahuacoyotl in Mexico City by OFUNAM conducted by Daniel Boico.

Programme Note

Recordare was written in 2006 to be part of the celebrations to celebrate Mozart’s 250th birthday. Therefore the choice of the title, which also makes reference to the Recordare Jesu pie of the Requiem, in a seminal more than a thematic function.

Read More

The opening notes F-E-Bb-A become also the starting point to elaborate the melodic material of my Recordare. In a similar manner, I also make reference to the Quartet K465 to elaborate the harmonic material of the introduction. However, the work takes off in its own direction, to establish its own identity harmonically and structurally.